Who We Are

Development Team

American Anthropological Association

Ed Liebow
Executive Director

Daniel Ginsberg
Director of Education and Professional Practice

Palmyra Jackson
Education Research Coordinator

Nell Koneczny
Accessibility & Meetings Coordinator

Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage

James Deutsch

Sojin Kim

Michael Atwood Mason

Meghan Ussing
Research Intern

Erin Younger
Research Associate

American Library Association

Lainie Castle-Cimfel
Project Director

Melanie Welch
Project Director

Smithsonian Exhibits

Paula Millet
Exhibit Designer

John Powell
Exhibit Developer / Writer

Seth Waite
Project Manager 

Advisory Board 

Leo Chavez
University of California-Irvine 

Matthew Durington
Towson University 

Judith Freidenberg
University of Maryland 

Sarah Green
University of Helsinki 

William H. Heaney
University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh

Monica Heller
University of Toronto 

Laurel Kendall
American Museum of Natural History 

Louise Lamphere
University of New Mexico 

Miguel Vilar
National Geographic Society 


The Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research

Office of the Secretary, Smithsonian Institution

American Anthropological Association

Special thanks go to the following individuals and institutions who contributed immensely to this project: 

District of Columbia Public Libraries

Leslie Walker